The no-measuring quilt

The no-measuring quilt

I bought some remnant fabric at the Marimekko shop two weeks ago, with the idea that I would make a quilt with it plus whatever I could find that matched.  I supplemented the beautiful green and maroon ginkgo prints with some plain green fabric from Kaffe Fassett, which I bought from Liberty.

Since the remnants were all the same size, I figured I’d just cut them and sew them into randomly-sized strips without having to measure anything, and then join those strips together with some (still-to-be-bought) fabric in a matching colour.

The reason I loved this idea so much is because I hate measuring.  For a person so mathematically-inclined, it’s kind of an odd trait, but I just loathe taking out a ruler or cutting straight lines.  I like measuring by eye (I do pretty well drawing and cutting straight lines without help) and then sewing together by trial-and-error.  Perhaps that’s why some of the clothes I’ve sewn in the past haven’t fit exactly right, but it’s also why some of them fit better than they would if I’d stuck to the original pattern (at least I can personalize the waist-to-hip ratio on a skirt, for example!).  Anyhow, I decided to try a no-measuring quilt this time.  We’ll see how it turns out.  I’m liking it so far!

